Our Award Recipients

Bishop Joseph Cretin Award

The Bishop Joseph Cretin Award is given annually to a distinguished Cretin alumnus.

  • In recognition of their outstanding service to their community and to Cretin High School.
  • For their achievements in their profession exemplifying the highest and best traditions of Cretin High School.
  • This award is presented in memory of the Cretin High School founder.

2016 Award Winner-General Joseph Votel '76

The St. DeLaSalle Award

  • The St. De La Salle Award is presented in honor of the Christian Brothers.
  • The award is presented annually to a distinguished Cretin alumnus in recognition of his outstanding service to his community and to Cretin High School.
  • Recognize his achievements in his ministry exemplifying the highest and best traditions of Cretin High School.

2016 Award Winner-Michael Campion '66

Eugene & Mary Frey Community Award

  • This award was instituted in 1999 in recognition of the tremendous commitment Eugene ’48 and Mary Frost Frey ’52 have demonstrated to Cretin-Derham Hall and the larger community.
  • This award is presented to an individual who reflects the mission and values of Cretin-Derham Hall through involvement with Cretin-Derham Hall and other community interests.

2016 Award Winner-John '51 & Catherine Michel 

Monsignor Ambrose V. Hayden Legacy Award

  • Recognizing an individual whose spirit and energy reflect an understanding of the need to preserve the past and provide for future generations.

2016 Award Winner-Robert '51 & Carolyn Koemptgen

The Carondelet Award

  • The Carondelet Award honors a woman who has attained eminence in a particular field of endeavor.

2016 Award Winner-Laura Fries’80 

The Hugh Derham Award

  • The Hugh Derham Award is given in recognition of loyal service rendered to Derham Hall through work aimed at bettering the school, its objectives and ideals.

2016 Award Winner-Patricia Norusis 

The Hour Glass Award

  • The Hour Glass Award recognizes a woman who exemplifies Derham Hall’s ideals of Christian love and service. 

2016-Award Winner-Mary White Frey'76