Raider Brigade Hosts Twilight Parade and Spring Awards Ceremony

May 11, 2024

The Raider Brigade had a beautiful day to host their annual Twilight Parade and Awards Ceremony on May 9. This annual event is held on Wingerd Field and was a chance to celebrate another successful year of the JROTC program, honor students for their hard work and leadership during the 2023-24 school year, and parade past Brigade leadership and the audience.

Col. Joe Scrocca spoke about the history of the Raider Brigade, including its tradition of excellence and how the leadership displayed at school and in the community sets the example for all. He offered the following words of wisdom for all of the cadets: “I know each you of you will strive to be servant leaders of character and role models to those around you. Make good choices, work hard, be trustworthy and loyal, be proud, respectful, empathetic, and kind.”

The final act of the evening was the change in command. The Class of 2024 passed on the leadership of the Corps to the Class of 2025. The senior class celebrated at the end with the traditional beret toss.

The following awards were presented. Col. Scrocca explained that while these awards are indicators of past excellence, more importantly, they speak to future potential. 

The Department of the Army Superior Cadet Award

  • Mary Musolf ’24, Andrew
  • Ek ‘25, Luke Hilger ‘26
  • Kara Callahan ‘27

The Junior ROTC Citizenship Award

  • Emilia Bray ‘24
  • Max Laughlin ‘24
  • Sarah McKeown ‘24
  • Noah Gomez ‘25
  • Jeremiah Thom ‘25

The Raider Brigade Junior ROTC Academic Excellence Award

  • Katie Chestovich ‘24
  • Charles Crockett ‘24
  • Annabel Fulton ‘24
  • Jackie Lauer ’25
  • Connor Quinn ‘25
  • Yafiat Zemicael ‘25

Raider Brigade Junior ROTC Military Excellence Awards

  • Matthew Buri ‘24
  • Teelah Boua Koran ’24
  • Ed Krinke ’24, MJ Dougherty ’25
  • Scarlette Nagel ’25 

The Raider Brigade Junior ROTC Service Excellence Award

  • Ali Kairolla ’24
  • Sioban Wheaton ‘24
  • Naomi Solomon ‘25
  • Brooklyn Johnson ‘25

The Williams Brothers JROTC Cadet Scholarship

  • Hamelat Zerihun ’25
  • Bridget Bower ‘26
  • Maya Remer ‘27

Sons of the Union Veterans of the Civil War Medal

  • Matthew Baumberger ‘24

The Sons of the American Revolution ROTC Medal

  • Timothy Zastrow ‘24

The Sons of the American Revolution Bronze Good Citizenship Medal

  • Timothy Mohrland ‘26

The D.A.R. JROTC Medal

  • McKenna Schultz ‘24

The Daughters of the American Colonists Award

  • Emma Donnelly ‘25

The Military Officers’ Association of America Medal

  • Amelia Burda ‘24

The Reserve Organization of America Medal

  • Claire Baumberger ‘24

The American Veterans Association JROTC Medal

  • Jeremiah Thom ‘25


  • Briella McDonald ‘24


  • Margaret Marrinan ‘25

The National Sojourner’s Award

  • Mackenzie Steineman ‘26

The Scholastic Excellence Medals

  • Gold: Kayla Wengelewski ’24
  • Silver: Grace McSherry ’25
  • Bronze: Lucy Keating ‘26

The American Legion Military Excellence Medals

  • Gold: Noah Machtemes '24
  • Silver: Mostyn Guyott '25
  • Bronze: Ellen Kovats '26

The Veterans of Foreign Wars JROTC Medals

  • Samantha Wells '24
  • Michael Seifu '25
  • Keyon Archer '25

The Minnesota Society of the US – Daughters of 1812 award

  • Isabella Donnelly '24

The United States Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award

  • Bella Brondum '24

The United States Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award

  • Lupe Fruean '25
  • Calvin Noha '25


Subscribe to our e-Newsletters

News Hub